International Women’s Media Foundation (IWMF) Gwen Ifill Award 2023

2 months ago 58

Deadline: March 3, 2023

Applications are open for the International Women’s Media Foundation (IWMF) Gwen Ifill Award 2023. The Gwen Ifill Award was established to honor the memory of the legendary co-anchor of the PBS NewsHour, who passed away in November 2016.

Gwen Ifill was among the most respected journalists of recent time, a trailblazer and an incredible role model and mentor for young journalists. The Award is given annually to an outstanding female journalist of color whose work carries forward Ifill’s legacy.


  • Open to U.S. women and non-binary journalists of color working in the news media.
  • Self nominations are welcome.

Selection Criteria

Candidates for the award will be evaluated on criteria including:

  • Their record of outstanding achievement in journalism
  • The extent to which they represent the values Ifill embodied, including in the areas of mentorship, leadership, and commitment to diversity in journalism


The IWMF will be accepting self-nominations and third-party nominations until Friday, March 3, 2023, at 11:59 pm eastern.

Click here to nominate

For more information, visit IWMF Gwen Ifill Award.

Source : Opportunity Desk